My Feelings Are Valid

I have come to terms with the fact that I am not okay. Not always. I have panic attacks and I am depressed but I am dealing with it, maybe not well, but I am still here. That counts for something, right? I am allowed to feel what I am feeling. I do not need an excuse and I am allowed to cut myself some slack.

I interviewed the president of Carleton’s Student Association for Mental Health recently for a feature I’m writing (#journolife). He said, “Give yourself some credit. There is more than one type of pain.”

I am going to make that my mantra of sorts. I am living and persevering, even if I struggle and cry and stay in bed sometimes.

My feelings are valid.

Leave a Reply

